Reviews

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Princess X

My book club picked this book and I eagerly started reading.  Now that I’ve finished, I give it 3 stars!  I enjoyed it quite a bit!

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen; illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon—her best friend, Libby, who lives.

This was definitely a mystery book.  Who is running the Princess X website?  What really happened to Libby all those years ago?  It was fun finding out the answers to these questions!  I kept getting my hopes up about Libby being alive then squashing them knowing that I was probably wrong.  I’m not going to say whether I was right to squash my hopes or not because that would spoil the book!

I really liked the web comic aspect of this book.  I Am Princess X had several pages of the web comic scattered throughout the book, which I thought was really cool!  And the comic pages were done in purple, which is one of my favorite colors, so I especially liked that! 🙂  I did notice that the comic pages tapered off near the end.  I understand why they did, but I wish the author would have figured out some way to keep including them.

I thought the writing was simple and easy to read, for the most part.  There was one scene where the writing got metaphorical and flowery, which I liked.  That scene was the construction site scene.  I have so many sentences from that section of the book that I liked that I am going to put them at the end of this review.

There was an error in this book that I caught while reading.  On page 129, it says that May and Trick missed the bus, so they started walking toward their destination.  On the next page, though, it says they walked outside and caught the bus.  So did they catch the bus or not?  It was confusing, to say the least.

I was glad that a romance didn’t blossom between May and Trick.  In fact, there was no romance in this book at all, which was a nice change!  I didn’t really like Trick as a character.  He just seemed like a slimy guy.  He did things that bothered me, but I can’t mention them because they’d be spoilers.  I’m just glad he and May didn’t like each other in a romantic way.

In the end, I thought this book was pretty good.  It held my attention and kept me reading, but never really gripped me to the point that I couldn’t stop reading.  That is why this book gets 3 stars from me.  I did enjoy it, though, so maybe you will too! I recommend trying it anyway!

Favorite Quotes:
– It looked easy from below, like crossing a playground full of gravel, but it was more like rock climbing without any gear.  – PG. 100
– She put her weight against the door and it scraped open, leaving a rainbow arc swept clean on the dusty floor.  – PG. 104
– Stray bits of wire dangled down, trailing like jungle vines in primary colors.  – PG. 105

1 thought on “I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s